Keynote speakers

We are proud to announce that the scientific program will be enhanced by keynotes given by a set of exceptional and diverse speakers, from the world of Digital Humanities as well as the world of academia in general; one local, one European, one American.

aguera Our Busa Prize winner, Helen Agüera, was Senior Program Officer at the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) in Washington, D.C. from 1979 until her retirement in 2014. During her tenure at the Endowment, she administered grants for many of the pioneering projects in humanities computing, including awards to the Text Encoding Initiative from 1987 to 1999. She also worked in the creation of several NEH programs that funded digital projects and the development of digital standards and tools. Prior to retiring, she coordinated the National Digital Newspaper Program, which is funding the digitization of selected newspapers published in the United States.
ClaireWarwick Claire Warwick of Durham University needs no introduction to Digital Humanists. She has been a major figure of our field and is probably one of the highest-placed DHers in the academia as Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research) at Durham. Her research is concerned with the way that digital resources are used in the humanities and cultural heritage; in the use of social media in these areas; in reading behaviour in physical and digital spaces; and in the infrastructural context of Digital Humanities. She has served on the Executive Council of the Association for Computing and the Humanities and was chair of the International Programme Committee for Digital Humanities 2009. She is also a member of the advisory board for the British Library’s BL Labs initiative, and for CLARIN and DARIAH-DE and is the only British member of the Conseil Scientifique du Campus Condorcet in Paris.
The universe of great international research institutions will be opened to us by Agnieszka Zalewska, currently president of CERN Research Council; she is the first Pole, Central-Eastern European and woman to occupy that prestigious post. She is Professor and Head of the Department of Neutrino and Dark Matter Physics at the Institute of Nuclear Physics of the Polish Academy of Sciences in Kraków. She has worked on hadron physics, e+e- interactions, neutrino and dark matter physics, and did pioneering work on silicon vertex and tracking detectors with VLSI electronics at CERN. She has been responsible for several projects in particle physics in Poland and has been leader of Polish groups in large international collaborations and in European projects.